Tuesday, August 14, 2012


Catalonia is an autonomous community of Spain, with the official status of a "nationality". Catalonia comprises four provinces: Barcelona, Girona, Lleida, and Tarragona, and the Capital is Barcelona.

 Catalonia's excellent gastronomy is characterized by seafood, rice dishes, wines of great international reputation and traditional desserts like the famous "Catalonian Cream".

  Best known apart from the capital, Barcelona, is of course the Mediterranean coast, Costa Brava and Costa Dorada, with ample beaches and mild climate, doubtlessly a first rate touristical attraction.

Catalonia has a very marked culture of its own, most evidently of Mediterranean tradition, and is distinguished of most other Spanish regions in several aspects, not at least by its language, Catalonian (although everybody speaks and understands Castilian Spanish perfectly). Certainly it is one of the most cosmopolitan places in Spain, thanks to its long tradition of international commerce.

 One shouldn't forget anyhow that Catalonia offers as well high mountain ranges, the Pyrenees in the north,  the curious formations of Montserrat, the inactive volcans of Garrotxa, and a wide plain area in the region's center.

Here is the Sant Pere de Roda, monestaire de Rodes.

Looks like a painting!

A few cartoons --

 I always did prefer a shower to a bath.

No comments:

Post a Comment